This is what happens when someone who has never written poems, attempts to write one. I had originally written this for a theme about conquering self doubt.  This seems to be my life these days…fighting self doubt on a daily basis. Well, at least  it brought out a poem.

I also found a picture of this wildflower in my photo archives. I had spotted it on the side of a road, while on a walk. The flower managed to hold its own in the midst of all the weeds. It was cheerful and full of life even though it could be trampled by foot or run over any second! I wish I could find a way to  be happy like this little flower. I wish it would share its secret with me. Until then, average poetry is what the world gets 🙂

20151208_124632

 

Early each morn, as my feet touch the ground,

I whisper two lines into the silence of dawn,

“Give me the strength to face the day”

“Give me the strength to carry on”

 

It started when I was all of four,

When an uncle, roiled by the mischief I had done,

Mentioned how spirited girls, would never be loved.

So, I wondered if I was as dreadful as he thought,

And I whispered a prayer into the night,

For the good Lord to make me quiet.

 

Soon I was all of eight, and the teacher grumbled to my mother,

About my lassitude for math and science,

It didn’t matter that I could draw or write, a lack of focus, meant failure outright.

So, I wondered if I was not good enough for school,

And I whispered a prayer into the night,

For the good Lord to make me astute.

 

Soon I was all of sixteen, when a close of friend of mine

Made a quip of how skinny I was not,

So, I wondered if I was as ugly as she thought,

And I whispered a prayer into the night,

For the good Lord to make me pretty.

 

Soon I was all of twenty four, when my boss claimed,

That no matter what I did, women like me

Could never be as good as the men on his team.

So, I wondered if I was not man enough in his world,

And I whispered a prayer into the night,

For the good Lord to make me tough.

 

Soon I was all of thirty, with a baby in tow and fish to fry,

Some wondered if I would be good enough a mother,

While some gauged my lifestyle and choices.

So, I wondered if I could ever do what was right,

And I whispered a prayer into the night,

For the good Lord to give me insight.

 

At thirty three, a toddler in tow and bigger fish to fry

I wonder if I can be good, I wonder if I can be right.

So I did what I always do, and sent a prayer into the night.

In my dreams He appeared, showing me everything that I had done,

Of mountains scaled and journeys completed,

Of battles won, against despair and doubts.

 

This morning as my feet touched the ground,

It dawned on me, the miles that they done.

With a smile on my lips, I whispered into the silence of dawn,

“Show me what you have, Bring it on”

Leave a Reply

