The Other Side – Dare to visit alone?


Image Courtesy: Internet

Image Courtesy: Internet

Authors: Faraaz Kazi and Vivek Banerjee

Publishers: Mahaveer Publishers

Verdict: Go for it!! 🙂 Read on to know more……

Excerpt: A slow rasping sound made me turn. I jumped back, the cell phone leaving my hands and smashing against the concrete floor. Someone was seated on the chair, rocking back and forth. Through the fallen light, I could see those hands placed on the arms of the chair, two gruesome wrinkled limbs with ugly boils plastered over the black skin. The red bangles on its wrists shone in my eyes, blinding me momentarily. That thing and I call it a ‘thing’ because I could sense it wasn’t human as no human being could have such a hideous form, as wretched an existence as the one seated opposite to my horrified self.” From a honeymoon in the hill that goes horribly wrong to an obsessed lover who wants his first love in life and in death. From a mentally deranged man who collects body parts of various women to form his dream girl to a skeptic who enters a mansion of horrors to win a bet and much more, this book is filled with scenarios that are guaranteed to give you goose bumps.

‘The Other Side’ is a collection of thirteen tales of the paranormal, a world that our eyes refuse to see, our ears deny hearing and our senses ignore the feel of. This is a book for someone who is brave enough to take up this invitation to journey through uncharted waters along with the authors, who were inspired by some bizarre experiences to pen down this work where the lines of reality have been blurred by the footsteps of imagination.

Each story takes you on a tour de force of unadulterated horror and draws upon the deepest fear in the human mind- the fear of the Unknown

I have been itching to write about this book for ages, but of course the duties of a mom keeps me busy than ever! If there were 48 hours in a day I’d take it 🙂 A huge thanks to Faraaz Kazi for sending me this book in exchange for an honest review. A few weekends ago the misfortune of watching a few Bollywood horror movies happened to me and since that debacle my resolve to write about this book has been more than ever! Before you get the wrong idea, let me clarify. I have always felt that scaring a reader with words is not as easy as it sounds (and kudos to all those great authors who manage to pull that trick) and after watching those sorry films it made me realize how hard the authors of this genre need to work to succeed even where the visual media fails! Faraaz Kazi and Vivek Banerjee you guys  have definitely scored!! I shall stick to my intentions of reading horror and not watching it (at least avoid it as much as possible)

Let me start with the cover of the book as it is definitely an important factor that will persuade readers that love this genre to browse this book. The cover is as spooky as they come and gets your imagination working in over drive…

Over to the book – a collection of 13 short stories that will make you wonder if you are really alone in this world. Considering the fact that I have been reading many horror flicks of late, none of the initial stories managed to scare me or look lover my shoulders. Most of them especially the likes of “The muse comes calling” seemed to be a case of Déjà vu read for me…

The stories starred all the usual suspects; characters from horror stories that come back to taunt their authors, ghosts of people who have suffered tragic deaths and don’t seem to be in a mood to leave their earthly abodes, ghosts that seem to hang around due to unfinished business and more.

All that changed when I got to “The Possession”. Now this story of the ghost of a young girl that haunts a house and its inhabitants had me biting my nails with anxiety and it didn’t help that it was 11:00p.m at night while I was reading this story by an open window! The story which seems to be inspired by the many superstitions that surround a banyan tree at night was a read where every page was to die for (pun not intended). I even got my MIL to read it to make sure that I was not over reacting and she did reassure me that I was not!! And the climax is definitely the piece the resistance of the story!

It seemed like the authors had saved the best for last as every story which followed this one seemed to take me on a scary ride. One which was extremely disturbing was the story about a man’s search for the perfect woman in “Dream Girl“, a fusion of psychological issues and tantric practices. I am pretty sure that this story would inspire some film maker to take it further and bring it to celluloid. In fact it is really apt for the Bhatts as long as they don’t mess it up like some of their other films!! 

A story that manages to tug at your heart-strings is “Unfulfilled Desires” where a doctor braves the night and superstitions to help out the ghost of a girl find justice and help her soul to move on….Sigh!

Other features that deserve credit are the prologue and the epilogue of the book. Featuring the authors themselves, these pages make you wonder if their own tryst with paranormal encounters inspired this book. A friend once mentioned to me that only those who experience the paranormal can do justice to this type of literature. If that is true it seems like authors seem to lead pretty exciting lives and are especially brave to have lived and tell the tale!

Definitely a good book for those who love this genre. Even better if you have just started reading this genre

 

Leave a Reply

